What in the world did I do with that magic wand?

2.5 Bowls of Popcorn (and a bit of a shoe fetish)

You want to know the best part of watching a Disney movie with Josh? He knows all the words and sings along. Yup, it’s true. My tough-guy, gangsta-rap-lovin’ hubby has a soft spot for Disney tunes. It makes me melt. 

As for Cinderella, the movie, there’s really no need to analyize it too much, right? It truly is a “tale as old as time” after all, but the tale is a little frayed for me around the edges, for me. Why? Because it’s pretty sexist (like most Disney movies) and that’s a bit annoying. How so? Well, I’m glad you asked. I’ll give you an example. The King is all about marrying the young prince off to a young maiden, not because he wants the prince to be happy and not because he thinks that his son needs a strong woman in his life. It’s because he wants the prince to procreate. He wants grandkids. That’s all he cares about. Good grief. 

Anyways, as for the good parts of Cinderella, I always liked that she believed in the power of her dreams. That’s always been (and always will be) important to me. Though I am stymied by the concept of “if you tell a wish it won’t come true.” I remember watching this movie as a kid and believing that this sentiment was true. Due to this flawed dogma, I was a phenomenal secret keeper as a kid. It’s a skill I possess to this day. I’m not sure if I should thank Cinderella or shoot her.  

Fun Fact: Gus’s life was saved from Lucifer because he lost a shoe. Coincidence? I think not. 

PS – Word to the wise, don’t trust a woman who names her cat Lucifer.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Animated Movie, Disney

Leave a comment