You’re Right, John. It’s Not Like In the Books

2 Bowls of Popcorn (and a swig of holy water?)

Keanu Reeves isn’t my cup of tea. He had one good run with the Matrix, but we aren’t there in our marathon yet. The only reason Keanu pulls off Constantine effectively is because this movie is about a surly, unhappy, angsty caucasian. That’s right in Keanu’s wheelhouse. 

It’s like every Constanine reboot tells a different version of the same story. In this instance, it’s a “buy your own redemption” story. This John Constantine lives above a bowling alley and smoke 30 cigarettes a day. He’s dying (of lung cancer) and he doesn’t care. The 2005 Constantine story meshes together the story of the Spear of Destiny with a Catholic suicide and a moody demon hunter. 

I’m not making this sound appealing, am I? Sorry about that. 

In truth, it isn’t that appealing. It’s a bit cheesy really. Why do we keep it? Excellent question. You see, Josh likes pretty much every reboot of the Constantine story. Me? I like the monologues. I don’t agree with them, but I like things that make me think. Here’s what I mean: 

Gabriel: You’re handed this precious gift, right? Each one of you granted redemption from the Creator – murderers, rapists, and molesters – all of you, you just have to repent, and God takes you into His bosom. In all the worlds in all the universe, no other creature can make such a boast, save man. It’s not fair. [leans closer]
Gabriel: If sweet, sweet God loves you so, then I will make you worthy of His love. I’ve been watching for a long time. It’s only in the face of horror that you truly find your nobler selves. And you can be so noble. So, I’ll bring you pain, I’ll bring you horror, so that you may rise above it. So that those of you who survive this reign of hell on earth will be worthy of God’s love. 
John Constantine: Gabriel, you’re insane!
Gabriel: [smiles] The road to salvation begins tonight. Right now.

Does “rising above” make us worthy? Hell no. Can we really earn Heaven? Nope. So if I disagree, why do I like the monologue. Good question, right? 

I like it because it makes you (me) think. We ARE handed a precious gift and we screw it up constantly. We throw away this amazing life we have been given in order to pursue our own desires. We aren’t worthy and we can’t make ourselves worthy. 

This movie also presents the idea that God and Satan made wager for human souls. The only rule was that the couldn’t have direct contact with humans; all they could do is influence. The movie posits that God and Satan made this deal just to see who would win. Now I don’t buy this premise, because I don’t buy that God works that way, but I do find this premise interesting in that it puts the power in human hands. 

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Drama, Thriller

Leave a comment