We Said No Questions

Rating: 
4 Bowls of Popcorn (and never drink with customers)

Apparantly I love tragedy. Josh hates it. After watching my beloved Casablanca, he felt the need to point out to me that I have a “thing” for movies that involve affairs. I found this a bit unsettling. I’ve been cheated on (not by Josh); I know what it feels like first hand. And yet, here I am, loving movies that involve this decision. I’m still not sure what to do with this revelation. 

I wish I could explain how bored Josh was during Casablanca. I really think the most fun he had was pointing out that this movie contradicts what I believe in. 

For the moment, however, I am going to forget the bombshell he dropped on me and focus instead on those dropped on Casablanca (too soon?). Anyways, I love this movie and I think the reason why is not imbedded in the affair (grrrr…), but rather in the tough choices. 

Rick and Ilsa had a wild, wonderful romance in Paris. But things turned sour when the Germans invaded. He never really got over the whole thing. She didn’t really either, but she was reconnected with her husband (she had thought he was dead) and was therefore forced to put Rick behind her. So when she walks in to his gin joint (out of all the gin joints in all the world), he is instantly taken back to Paris, to a place where he was happy. 

So when Ilsa needs help that only Rick can provide, what does he do? Does he do it, does he help her for old times sake? Or does he leave her like she left him? Tough choice, right? 

When the temptation is there to run away with Ilsa and start a new life together, does he do it? Does he help her leave her husband to rot in Casablanca? Or does he do the right thing and help them escape and remain behind, alone? Tough choice, right? 

Rick says at the beginning of the movie that he “sticks his neck out for nobody,” but that’s just not true. He is a good man, even when he doesn’t want to be. 

To sum up: I love this movie and think you should to. Josh, on the other end of the spectrum says that this movie just goes to show that “women cause all the problems in this world.” He also pointed out that in old movies, the directors shine a stupid light on women whenever they are in the frame alone. It makes them look all glowie and “dumb.” 

Regardless of his critical review, I will always smile when I hear “As Time Goes By” and I will always sigh and feel a little sad when I hear the words, “Here’s lookin’ at you, Kid.” 

PS – Did you know that Rick’s Cafe actually exists in Casablanca? Well, it does!

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Classic, Romance
One comment on “We Said No Questions
  1. jon reid says:

    Great review Lynette, I’ve always wondered what that flick was about. Not after reading your review, especially josh’s comments, I can die happy 🙂

Leave a comment