You Have Disturbed The Dirt.

Rating:
3 Bowls (with “a couple cherry bombs, road flares… too bad we don’t have some nitroglycerin”)

What stands out to me about Atlantis: The Lost Empire is that this movie was the first Disney movie to really pull the old switcheroo on me.  If you say “The Lion King pulled the old switcheroo and that came out years before Atlantis,” clearly you never read Hamlet, because there was nothing surprising about Scar’s deception. Even as a kid watching The Lion King before I knew the story of Hamlet I could tell Scar was going to be a no-good dude. HIS NAME WAS SCAR! Anyway, I’m getting off the main subject here: Atlantis.

*Spoilers, Sweetie*

As good as I am at predicting movies, I didn’t see the entire team turning on Milo like they did. I mean, the crew was full of seemingly good people! Sweets, Vinny, Cookie, Mole, Ramirez… they all turn on Milo and the people of Atlantis for a profit! This broke my pre-teen heart! The team members redeem themselves, yes, but it was touch-and-go there for a minute.

OK, a few things to note. This movie isn’t classic Disney for two reasons.
1) no singing
2) it’s sci-fi

A few things to consider about this movie…
1) There’s so much little cleverness in this movie. Don’t miss it.
2) Kida isn’t a princess. Well, she technically IS a princess, but not a traditional Disney princess. appreciate that.
3) Milo isn’t a prince. appreciate that, too.

Josh’s words on this movie: “Epic animation! Almost as good as Titan A.E.

21 down!

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Disney, Kid's Movie

Leave a comment